Sunday, August 12, 2007

Papa John's Pizza Chain

I'm not sure if most vegetarians know this or not, but I'll put it up just in case.

Papa John's cheese does not contain animal rennet, which is a stomach enzyme used to cultivate normal cheeses. It is not vegan, but is still a better choice than most cheeses since it does not contain animal rennet. I also believe their crust and sauce is vegan. They have a FAQ on their website that clarifies this.

So, Papa John's is a good choice if you are vegetarian, not vegan since it uses a more "humane" cheese. They will also do a vegetable pizza with no cheese, which would make the pizza vegan.

No comments: